Hypertext Essay

I have always been interested in music, whether it be classical legends such as Bach or more modern/contemporary EDM music such as Flosstradamus, shlohmo or Flying Lotus. I never really thought about producing music until recently, when I realized I have become more invested in learning about music production and I’ve been spending more of my time and money going to watch artists/DJs perform live.

I am always keeping an eye out for new artists/DJs who produce great tunes and I use that as an inspiration for dabbling in my own music production, it hasn’t gone very well but I feel with the right push and the right people I could make something out of it.

Artists such an RL Grime and shlohmo look for groups to join which give them a successful push, these two joined the WeDidIt Collective and they both produced some killer tunes and albums. RL Grime, for example, came out with his album VOID through WeDidIt records.

But one thing I have noticed that all DJs/Producers, whether they be new to the scene or are well-known, have a Soundcloud account in which they post their music. in turn, YouTube channels such as Mr. Revillz will hopefully post my songs in video form to their thousands of subscribers.

Another way I could get known for making music (at least in the Melbourne area) is volunteer for music festivals such as Beyond the Valley or Listen Out. In this article written by David Michael, he explicitly states that there are different archetypes of DJs, such as the resident club DJ, or the Radio DJ. I guess my first step would be figuring out what sort of DJ’ing I would want to do, which is the club DJ. Through my volunteering, I could hopefully secure a contact that would allow me to perform at said festivals.

Or I could also push for myself to DJ at certain clubs in Melbourne depending on the music I make, one for example is Cant Say. I have been there repeatedly and there seems to be a heavy focus on up-and-coming Melbourne DJs. If I wanted to do something like the electronic genre, I could push my efforts to guest DJ at New Guernica, yet another club enveloped in helping DJs get a push in the industry.

There are many various ways I could get a break and start being known in the industry. A friend of mine, who goes by the DJ alias Mimi is a resident DJ at CRXZY SXXY CXXL who had her break through said club, allowing her to be a resident DJ there. She currently has 1,631 likes on Facebook and is DJ’ing at an event later tonight, headlining main act Troyboi (which I am going to tonight).

So that was my thoughts for the night, but I think it all comes down to talent and my perseverance to get well-known, and of course if people enjoy my music.

2 comments

  1. David Michael · August 17, 2015

    Thanks for the mention, I’m glad you found my guide useful 🙂

    Like

    • stevakun · August 19, 2015

      No problem!! It really helped me write the essay. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

